1. Welcome to Recreational Flying, the Home of Recreational and GA Pilots, Aircraft and Aviation. Please register, it's FREE to use ALL our great features. Hi

How to get a NOTAM on a Restricted Area?

Discussion in 'Student Pilot and Further Learning' started by rdarby, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. rdarby

    rdarby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    473
    Likes Received:
    84
    Aircraft:
    Foxbat and SportStar
    Location:
    Caboolture
    Country
    Hi

    I am doing a cross country with my instructor tommorow as a pre-test for the flight test, so not really on cross country level yet but giving it a go and trying to do all the planning.

    I pass through R663A and R663B, these are rocket launching areas activated by NOTAM, or so I interpret from the VTC.

    I've tried NAIPS but can't get a NOTAM for them, it comes up with invalid location.

    How do I get a NOTAM for something that isn't an airfield?

    Thanks for the help
    Ryan
  2. Ultralights

    Ultralights Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Message Count:
    2,305
    Likes Received:
    445
    Aircraft:
    Savannah VG, Vampire SV2, Jabiru, Tecnam, GA.
    once in the air you can contact melb or bris centre on the relevant area frequency and request the status of restricted areas R***
  3. rdarby

    rdarby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    473
    Likes Received:
    84
    Aircraft:
    Foxbat and SportStar
    Location:
    Caboolture
    Country
    Thanks. I have also found by doing an area briefing you get all the weather and NOTAM's and down the bottom it lists locations with no current NOTAM, and my ones are on the list, so I'll check in the morning and then again on the radio before I get there.
  4. magcheck

    magcheck Guest

    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure these areas still exist, I can't find them in the DAH or ERSA
  5. rdarby

    rdarby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    473
    Likes Received:
    84
    Aircraft:
    Foxbat and SportStar
    Location:
    Caboolture
    Country
    Hmmm. My ERSA has expired, it's the June one. I would not have noticed but for your post, thanks. First one I have had since I'm new to this. They do show up on the area briefing for area 40.
  6. rdarby

    rdarby Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    473
    Likes Received:
    84
    Aircraft:
    Foxbat and SportStar
    Location:
    Caboolture
    Country
    The trip got rained out, so I'll redo in a few weeks, with a new ERSA! Thanks for all the help on this.
  7. Yenn

    Yenn Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    Message Count:
    3,105
    Likes Received:
    403
    Aircraft:
    Corby Starlet
    Location:
    Benaraby
    Have a look on the VNC chart. I don't know where you are flying, but if it is near Brisbane to the north there is no mention of R633. I have the new VNC charts No9 to 12, covering the East coast of Qld. They will be available to all for June 2nd. Mine are preliminary copies dated 18 November.
  8. magcheck

    magcheck Guest

    Likes Received:
    0
    There are some new rules about transiting restricted areas that may be worth looking at

    http://www.casa.gov.au/wcmswr/_assets/main/oar/download/reforming-airspace.pdf

    Regarding the thread title question one way you can do it is in Naips, use the airspace group box (under the restricted area ones) and enter the area, for example NWX gives Nowra, WMX gives willytown and for Amberly try AMX and AEX
  9. OzRunways

    OzRunways Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2010
    Message Count:
    34
    Likes Received:
    2
    Aircraft:
    SportStar,P3,RV7A,R44
    Location:
    Adelaide
    Military restricted areas can be looked up with 3 letter codes in ERSA, like 'EDX', 'TNX', 'SNX' etc. They are sometimes listed as being active for a week long period, then with a bunch of times underneath active for certain serials. You need to look very carefully at these.

    Other areas you have to type in the full code. e.g. if an area has R119A, R119B, R119C etc, naips will spit an error if you just type in R119.

    Other areas are marked on maps and are permanently activated. Look in the map legend to see. Some say 'NOTAM' and some will say 'H24'. You can see what the notam is for in ERSA. e.g. "army firing range"

Share This Page