Introducing the 'EagleRay'

Deskpilot

As some of you already know, I'm prone to looking for something different. I recently came across a photo of the Stingray, a single seat version of John Dykes Delta, a 4 seat, plans built aircraft that has seen some success in the USA. Now the Stingray really caught my attention, but it didn't fit into the RAA rules, so I've designed my own.

So far what you see is all that exists but I'm well on the way to figuring out all the techie stuff like aspect ratio, surface area, mean aerodynamic chord, lift and drag coefficients etc, etc.

Still got to figure under-carriage placement which won't be easy. It's going to be semi-retractable and there's not a lot of room for the nose wheel. The wings will be de-mountable outside the main gear.

As for construction method, we'll see as we go but my thoughts are a mixture of wood, honey-comb F/G panels and maybe a F/G skin.

Imagine the wings to be aerodynamic, not faceted. I'm new to modelling.

I like it, what do you think?

411092843_EagleRay1640x480.jpg.54a4ddca21ed43c34343bbce41b2405e.jpg

1093405985_EagleRay2640x480.jpg.3d69d1f542456e8e4b9739623f53e4ac.jpg

1846654476_EagleRay3640x480.jpg.e330bf40fcbeea2dd8169118f3eafced.jpg

126011999_EagleRay4640x480.jpg.6e1f9919d26fc277e6a261fdec0e8b4a.jpg

1206709804_EagleRay5640x480.jpg.56624ad6d7b0ae865d838bcdfcf601d8.jpg

1346555287_EagleRay6640x480.jpg.549ff1642f60db0ad48a0ff1aca89536.jpg

1595644803_EagleRay7640x480.jpg.7fa16f0c61352cadf82c3b34408c5904.jpg