Improper use of Nyloc nuts

Thruster87

Recently in my inspections I have been seeing improper use of Nyloc nuts and bolts. AC 43-13 is very clear in that nyloc nuts should not be used on assemblies that rotate or high temperature areas. Important assemblies that rotate are the push rod ends in the flight control system, elevator, rudder and aileron hinges and any other rotating assemblies. These areas should have a drilled bolt and a casellated nut with a cotter pin. Cheers T87

I used to be a DeHavilland apprentice, in the '50s, and we were taught 1.5 to 2.5 threads showing, and never use a Nyloc more than once.

We should also remember that Nylocs are not class 1 locking - all vital fixings should be class 1. Examples of class 1 locking are peening, staking, (not often used on Microlights) wire locking and split pins or quick release pins and cotter pins, used in conjunction with castellated nuts.

Occasionally where a class 1 locking method cannot be used, it may be necessary to use loctite in conjunction with a nyloc nut - prop nuts/bolts are an example of this, but there are others.

This problem with the grip length may be caused because of using imperial hardware (US) on metric designed aircraft. the GA Trinidad and Tobago (french designed) use metic hardware. be aware of this when rebuilding/repairing European Aircraft.

Guest Maj Millard

The US standard, AC43.13 and all that, is minimum of one thread and maximum of three threads. More than three threads, you get a shorter bolt, or put a washer under the nut. Since we generally use AN hardware (Army/Navy, which is all they had back in 1930) , we should be prepared to abide by those standards, as they were developed and perfected over many years of practical testing.