Altimeter with no subscale??

Guest nunans

Hi, I purchased a plane recently (supapup MkII) and the altimeter has an adjustment knob but no QNH subscale. It's the first one i've seen that doesn't have a subscale and i'm not sure what to think,

Does it really matter?

I guess visual flying is what ultralights do so even the altimiter itself is optional?

There is no stall warning either so i'm beginning to realise recreational aircraft can require more hands on skill to fly than the GA trainers with all the warnings and instruments and inherent stability built in.

Scott

do u need to use QNH Scott?....if not u dont need a subscale..

I'm new to all this but I suppose the only time i'd need to use QNH is to keep my altimeter accurate en route to stay hemispherical and out of the way of other aircraft, or when inbound to set local qnh with an awis/atis etc so i end up at the right circuit height.

In reality i probably won't be going far so just to look out the front and stay above the dirt should be good enough.

Maybe once i get some hours up i won't need an altimeter at all?

That's how I understand it. So knowing the elevation of my location on the ground I would adjust my altimeter to that elevation which would be QFE by default even though you could not actually read the QFE without a subscale.David

If you know the field elevation and set that while on the ground then you are setting QNH if you are on the ground and set ZERO on the alt you are setting QFE.

• Like 3

Tex, that's it, pure and simple. QFE is simpler to use if you are ONLY doing circuits at the ONE aerodrome. It's not ( encouraged to be ) used in Australia.