A Savannah for Southern NSW

bobcharl

G'Day All,

Am new to the world of Internet Forums, so if this seems unusual in any respect when it is posted please forgive me.

I live 30km north of Wagga in southern NSW. Savannah's are a little uncommon here, I know of only two in a 250km radius of here, as opposed to SE QLD which seems to be dotted with them. Perhaps it's something to do with affluence (or lack of). If there are others near me I would love to hear of them. I will try to highlight some of the problems so other builders can be forewarned before they make the same mistake I did.

Anyway, I have commenced construction of a Savannah VG XL. I hope to provide a running commentary of my efforts, although not in the detail of some already on this forum, and in no way to compete with them.

I have tackled the rudder first because it looked the easiest part. (I am a first time builder). Went quite well.The fit-up is good, although where a rivet goes through a longeron, a rib, and a couple of skins requires some effort. I was reasonably pleased with the outcome, except for the plastic cap on the top.I may have to re-fit it. The manual was not much help in that regard. Whilst on the manual, that Italio-English takes mastering. Surely a better translation would not be too much to ask for.

Cheers till next time,

Bob Charlton

• Replies 156
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Welcome Bob. Looking forward to reading about your build. A Savvy is definitely on my shortlist of aircraft to build one day. Might we see your Savvy at Wagga some day in the future?

Peter

Gday Bob, Im based in Wollongong, and also there is a new savvy under construction in Kiama, and a new factory built S arrived recently on the South coast of NSW, so they are spreading south! Sadly i cant give you any help with building as i bought mine already built, (i didnt want to wait to fly and do what i do at work again when i get home)