Wheel Spats - Are they worth the trouble?

Guest russ.mullins

Guest russ.mullins

I would like to ask anyone out there for an opinion on whether the benefits of wheel spats outweigh the inconvenience. I have no real knowledge on this subject other than to have noted that the wheel spats make a plane look prettier, and keep the sheep poo off the underside of the wing when I use a farm strip, but I don't know whether they really save any fuel by making the plane more aerodynamic, or slow the plane down much. I do know that they are a real nuisance when I'm checking tyre pressures and wheel/brake condition, and they sometimes get knocked about on rough ground, and they sometimes get full of mud(and sheep poo) when the dirt strip is a bit damp, and they tend to make the brakes get hotter. So if anyone has done the maths, or tested their plane with and without wheel spats, I'd love to hear their findings.

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

No not if you are frequently using sheep poo as your landing ground or any poo for that matter for all the reasons you have stated.

They may add 3 to 5 knots to your cruise speed if properly fitted, but they add weight which increases with each landing in sheep poo, they are hard to clean, they make preflight inspections more difficult ... oh and they cost a lot and damage easily on rough fields. I don't have them on my aircraft and wont fit them either, but I rarely land on bitumen and sheep and cow poo is an issue for me as well. But that is all just my opinion buddy, there may be other views on this.

Guest russ.mullins

I'm wondering whether anyone has ever tried a kind of flat mudguard above the wheels to stop the mud (or poo) splattering onto the bottom of the wings. I guess with a high wing its no problem. I think I would happily sacrifice looks and airspeed for the ability to check my wheels, tires and brakes without hassles if I could just stop the flying mud and poo sticking to the wing