Importing a Kit Plane from the U.S

DGL Fox

I would like to buy a plane from a company in the U.S.A, it is a LSA kit plane and has been flying there only a short time ago but was pulled down to rebuild it, I will get this company to rebuild it there as I have no experience in rebuilding aircraft or the time for that matter and then it will need to be pulled down for transporting here.

Could someone here tell me what would be involved in importing this aircraft here?

I know I will have to pay GST on the plane etc and R-Aus rego 19 I would guess but what are the other things that would need to be considered, or is it just these things that I have already noted and it is all basicly easy to do.

Does anyone have any experience with doing this that they could pass on to me, thanks.

David

• Replies 62
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

How far from the nearest port is the plane?

This is the damage on my delivery, keep in mind this is just what you spend to get your container off the wharf and through AQIS

Customs Assessment (Duty/GST/EEC) Exempt Rated 2,991.18

GST Amount 2903.18

AQIS Processing Charge 14.00

Declaration Processing Charge 50.00

AQIS Container Charges 24.00

Wharfage Charge 836.50

Cartage 395.00

Customs Clearance / Agency Fees 150.00

Customs Compliance Fee 35.00

AQIS Fees Zero Rated 200.00

AQIS Service Payment Amount 139.00

AQIS Service Payment Amount 139.00

Fuel Surcharge 39.50

Wharf Booking Fee 20.00

International calls 30.00

Total spend $4,847.78

Yes looks fair enough, of course the GST etc would change depending on the final cost out of the US, plus I would need add to all of this, a L2 I would guess would need to put it all back together, it will need to be painted and then of course all the admin stuff for RA-Aus that they would require me to do, not sure what they would require an how much.

Thanks FT

David