Foolproof tank installation.

Samuel117

Hi every one, I have to admit before hand that I read the previous sections about belly tank installationand for that I thank you all.My problem, I have zero experience and need to install a belly tank to my drifter. I need all the info I could find. This are my questions:

1- what do you use to attach the metal strips that holds the tank to the belly? Bolts?, rivets?

2- my tank has two fuel connections on the back and a draining and one on the front on top,close to the filling cap. The lower one goes to the engine. The upper on the back should bring fuel from the upper tank?

3- the one on the front on top is the breather?

4- I have no clue if my tank has a low fuel warning device but it came with the green and red lights on the box. Note this is an used tank. Actually looks pretty old to me. I have no clue how the wiring should be made.

5- by now you know who is the fool on this post but still, I need help.

Any diagram or article or any advise on how to test the tanks for leaks will be appreciated. Before asking I have tried to find any info about this but I could not find anything on this. By now and thanks to your early posts I will use the top tank to gravity feed the lower one. If anybody has any data on this I would appreciate if you could email me any time. My email [email protected]101_thank_you.gif.0bf9113ab8c9fe9c7ebb42709fda3359.gifimage.jpg.99bb77ab35c89ca9ef0869ea4683a3fc.jpg

image.jpg.89c4eae6ba624c62da959ead5c185606.jpg

image.jpg.873f97fdcd76c51d2dd8a6462c751405.jpg

The factory setup is that the top tank is plumbed to the top fitting at the back of the belly tank, the lower belly tank fitting is plumbed to the electric fuel pump, the one up near the belly tank filler runs along the tank and is connected to the vent line on the rear top face of the top tank. I cant see if your tank has the low fuel sender , you will see it on the left side of Tex's tank.