Passenger manipulation of control

I'm studying for my RPL exam and I have had conflicting information regarding the law for unlicensed passengers to manipulate the control in any way during the flight. Although in the VFRG it says that non part 61 compliant personnel shall not touch the controls of the aircraft. However, I've also heard pilots say that if you're the PIC, you are allowed to authorize passengers to fly the aircraft but responsibility lies with the PIC. Could someone confirm this?

Here is the Gospel according to CASA:

1. CIVIL AVIATION REGULATIONS 1988 - REG 228

Unauthorised persons not to manipulate controls

(1)  A person commits an offence if:

(a)  the person manipulates the controls of a registered aircraft during flight; and

(b)  the person is not:

(i)  if the aircraft is a balloon--authorised under Part 5 to fly the balloon or perform an activity essential to the balloon's operation during flight time; or

(ii)  for an aircraft other than a balloon--authorised under Part 61 of CASR to pilot the aircraft.

2. In the case of RAAus registered aircraft, CASA Instrument 59/17 says 

Authorisation

For paragraph 226 (1) © of CAR, CASA authorises a person, other than a person to whom paragraph 226 (1) (a) or (b) applies, to occupy a control seat of a recreational dual control aircraft.

Direction

For regulation 11.245 of CASR*, CASA directs the pilot in command of a recreational dual control aircraft in which a person occupies a control seat pursuant to the authorisation in section 3(Authorisation):

(a)   to instruct the person on how to avoid interference with the aircraft controls during flight; and

(b)   to maintain satisfactory communication at all times between the pilot and the person.

So, legally, the PIC cannot permit a passenger who is unlicenced (ie holds no sort of licence or certificate) to manipulate directional, engine or fuel controls of an aircraft, including on the ground.