Tips for a first solo?

Hey guys! I’m new to this forum and fairly new to piloting. I’m a student pilot with around 20 hours about to solo pretty soon. Anyone have tips, advice, or things not to do during a solo? Feel free to share your personal experiences too!

The AC wil fly much sooner than normal and climb faster; watch your altitude, it's easy to bust through the 1000ft AGL circuit height when only 1 up as it will happen earlier in the circuit.

Don't be afraid to do a go around if you're not happy with your approach to landing.

Enjoy, it's a once in a lifetime event 🙂

• Like 3
  • Helpful 2
  • Winner 1

Just do it in the same cool, calm and  collected way as you did when you had the Instructor with you. Allow for the weight difference. Do everything without haste, thoroughly and unrushed. You wouldn't be sent off unless you've reached a standard that is good enough . I went around as I didn't allow for the weight of the Instructor behind me being absent.  Do that if you have to but it's unlikely. Keep alert to other traffic and the wind. Really it's just another circuit.  On the C-172 check the seat is locked securely  Nev

• Like 4

Hi Summer, welcome to the forum, and welcome to flying.The advice from these guys is great, but please be aware that this is an Australian forum with many US members. Flying is flying, but from a regulatory point of view, there are differences, and you have to take this into account. Speak with your instructor, who is familiar with rules and regulations applicable in your area.

• Like 1