Bankstown Airport - Is it all Doom and Gloom?

Ben

Hello all! 

Long time lurker, first time poster so please be kind 😃 

Disclaimer: I am a uni student and have aspirations to become a pilot, so I'm still a noob. 

Anyway, I've been reading some posts here and from AOPA that Bankstown airport is in decline and I understand that there are some challenges it is facing such as commercial development, short term leases and increasing rents and the general apprehension due to potential impacts from Western Sydney Airport. 

I totally understand that those are pain points. But what if we look at the positive side of things, such as:

- Healthy movement numbers. Comparable to Parafield, Jandakot etc. 

- Strong demand - It's always super busy with 5-7 in a circuit 

- 10 Flight schools based here (strength in numbers!)

- Strategically located in the heart of Sydney (unlike WSI which is basically in the sticks)

- WSI is not a GA airport, so won't take away GA demand from Bankstown

With that, it seems unlikely that things will change around here. It has been this way for a long time and I believe it will stay this way for many years to come! 

I'm just trying to stay positive here, though I am prepared to be grilled...😅

• Like 2

In 2011 Bankstown had a total of 243,126 movements.

I wouldn't take any notice of the bleating, because these people are generall looking for something that was like THEIR past, when in fact the industry has been adapting year by year to where profits can be made.

For example, The Moorabbin Airport movements are available year by year for decades, and you can see where the declines were and how the low points were followed by booms, and a current year total of movements that looks very healthy and contradicts the doom spreaders.