Crosswind at La Salette (French Alpine grass strip)

With english subtitles:

From the channel's  'About':

"The light aircraft in question in this blog is a Jodel DR-1050 MV Sicily Record F-PKPL,

powered by a 100 hp Continental O-200 driving a Ratier propeller. Although this plane was designed in 1959,

it still performs very well today, since it can reach a cruising speed of 210 km/h (factory plane).

It is a 2+2 seater, with an empty weight of 460 kg, and a maximum take-off weight of 780 kg.

It was built by Pierre Peuzin between 1985 and 1993.... The rest of this presentation on this link:

http://speedjojo.blogspot.com/p/accueil.html"

• Like 2

13 minutes ago, sfGnome said:

Well, he’s a braver man than I. How do you abort a takeoff on that strip? 😳

Yeah, I guess you don't ... you just settle in for a leisurely glide down to one of the valleys below.   ;- ) 

But Fred Peuzin, the pilot owner of the Jodel (and airline pilot by trade) is well used to this strip.

His uncle even gets into La Salette, without problems in his little Skyranger.

This vid from 6 years ago shows the strip in nicer WX:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Db4C3-wZr20

I notice there's not a breath of wind but there wouldn't want to be for ME  ' That's in the second example . Even flying close to ridges is bad enough without landing up hill on one . Nev

Edited by facthunter
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

26 minutes ago, facthunter said:

I notice there's not a breath of wind but there wouldn't want to be.  Nev

Yes, no wind in that last vid. from 6 years ago.  But did you see the second film in the original post?

It's called "Cross-wind at La Salette".  But then Peuzin, himself, commented to camera after that circuit

that he didn't think it "prudent" to have another go.

In another of his La Salette films he admits to being a bit obsessed by its challenges.

However, for those of a mind to label his videos "irresponsible" he mounts his own defence in the Description:

[Per Google Translate]