First purchase where to start

Guest coolmango

Guest coolmango

Hi All

I thought I would look over the horizon into clearer skies and get further opinion. There seems a wealth of know how out there and I want to hook into it. Let me be clear. I am a beginner -all be it passionate and keen to fly.

I am exploring my options / models for a first RA-Aus aircraft purchase . My budget is no more 20K. less would be good - the family likes to eat on occassion. I am learning in a drifter, but would rather own something enclosed. It needs to be a two seater.

I am in no rush to buy, and I am happy to comprimise on the spead she travels at. I would even consider a project, but not sure where to start. Oh. I am not retired, I have to work so it will be a weekend passon.

Some say buy new, some say buy second hand - or a project. Others say synicate again others tell me to own solely - Can you "test fly" when you are in the market ? I thought you needed at 5 hours in the model you fly.

I live in Queensland incase that is relivant.

So I would be keen to read your thoughts, web links would be good, I am an enthusesitc but I don't know what "I dont know" !

Thanks in advance.

Probably your best bet is to determine what your desires are, and then go looking for aircraft to suit.

For example - do you want to travel long distances regularly in it? If you are, would you be happy if it took several hours to get there? Do you want to take a passenger when you go flying, or do you enjoy the solitude? What about landing in paddocks etc, or even on lakes?

All these things will affect your choice of aircraft, along with asthetics etc.