Steve

Hi everyone great to join the crew, i am from Pt Augusta SA and am in the process of choosing a new Jab, love the look of the 230 but wonder if the 170 will do a better job in the bush, i love long haul trips, hec i hate decisions, some advice would be great ps if your out this way call in, if your in trouble i am a level 2 always ready to help out a traveler, yep i have slept in a few paddocks so its great to know where assistance is, anyway guys i better go all the best.

Guest Decca

Hi Steve, nice of Frank to respond, but I'm surprised (and disappointed) that no-one from the Jabiru fraternity has answered your question. I'm a student in a Gazelle so I haven't the experience yet, but I'm sure you'll get more experienced answers soon.

Regards, Decca.024_cool.gif.7a88a3168ebd868f5549631161e2b369.gif

Guest tezza

Hi Steve and welcome.

Cant offer much advice on Jabis either, being a GA flyer myself, but I have flown with a friend in a J230 and I still cant wipe the smile off my face. If only they had one down my way for hire, I would definately come out of the closet for my RAA certificate.

I assume you are the same SteveDonald that posted on another forum about AUSNAV? If so I am glad you found it useful ( I wrote it). There is a very good flight planner here too, with more detail in the map but doesnt have the pull down menu to select your route.

cheers

Terry

G'day Steve and welcome. 098_welcome.gif.81ff07d492568199326e4f64f78d7bc6.gif

It really depends on your needs as to whether you choose the J170 or J230. 031_loopy.gif.e6c12871a67563904dadc7a0d20945bf.gif

The J170 has a bigger carrying capacity than the J230 (290kg v. 240kg). Is wider in the cabin, cruises at 100 knots (16 liters an hour) and is $15,000 cheaper to buy.

The J230 however will cruise 115 to 120 knots (23 liters an hour) has a huge cargo area for bulky items and rear door access.

Sort of a win, win - scenario. :big_grin:

So you pays your money and makes your choice. :thumb_up: