Birdstrike

Guest Cralis

With regards the news item on this site, 'Darwin a hotspot for birdstrike: aviation survey'

When we took off on Saturday morning in the Tecnam, there were around 6 to 8 of those big white birds with the long beaks .. can't recall their names and as I am new to Australia - I have an excuse for now. :)

Anyway, the crossed just below us, but directly in line.

Firstly... could hitting one or two cause an issue?

Secondly ... the pilot kept the same climb and same heading. I guess the answer is based on the first question, but should you try avoid them?

Am I right saying that just past the end of the runway, we're doing around 70knots, which is close to 130km/h... which could hurt a windscreen I'd have thought, but the prop might cause the bird a few problems before it hit the windscreen...

Personally I have never seen a bird strike in a small aircraft but I can imagine the outcome. But if an airliner hits a bird or few it can end up costing a new engine or worse so I WOULD HATE TO HIT ONE!!!!.

Guest pelorus32

You just don't want to do it. Somewhere on the web you will find the story of a guy flying a single engine aircraft - perhaps a Caravan - in Africa that hit a small raptor.

He was single pilot ops but happened to have another company pilot in the rh seat. One of the pilots was quite badly injured. Several of the passengers were injured with one woman losing the sight in one or perhaps both eyes. It was a very salutary story.

Avoid them at all costs. I had an Ibis decide to come very close one day. I saw the 4 of them and turned to avoid. His three mates went away from me and he put his flaps and gear down and dived for me. He went through the "hole" where the strut, fuse and wing make a triangle. How he missed the tailplane is beyond me.

My experience with birds of prey is that you will often see them at height and they have no interest in moving out of your way - in fact they are quite interested.