Soon to be a new WA Pilot

Guest Brett Campany

Guest Brett Campany

G'day all!

One of the blokes at work had a chat to me about getting involved in recreational aircraft. During our shift we talked a lot about types of aircraft, licensing and costs. Before I knew it he had me hook, line and sinker!

I've had some previous experience in a T300 Thruster some 12 to 15 years ago. My grandfather was an instructor flying out of the Oaks in NSW. He's been taking me flying since I was a young fella in small single engine aircraft like the C150, C172 and the Trinidad Tabago. I think the cost and requirements started to get to him so he did his conversion to Rec aircraft and that's where I first got the bug.

But after all these years I never did anything about it until now. I didn't realise that I could have an unrestricted certificate for around $4000! So I'm head down and bum up to get into it asap (much to my wife's digust!).

Currently I'm working within aviation as aircrew for Aerorescue in a Dornier 328 out of Perth so eventually I'll get the best of both worlds!

This Sat I'm heading out with this mate of mine from work up to Bindoon to check out the facilities and will try and get a TIF sorted out. My plan is to get things moving in the new year.

Hope to see some of you guys around! :thumb_up:

Brett

G'day Bret

Great to see another RAA pilot for WA. There has been a few changes in RAA since 15 years ago that you will enjoy. Have been involved in GA for a few years but only 17 months in RAA. Hope it go's well for you and enjoy this fantastic site

Phil

Guest Brett Campany

Mate I couldn't get enough money quick enough to get into it!! Trying to sort out my roster so I can get those first few hours done and dusted!

Guest Maj Millard