2000cc 2 stroke Engine - Check this out

DrZoos

i dunno, most CR500's with a new ring every now and then would make it past 500 hours pretty easy....

and with 240hp, you wouldn't be running it very hard very often...

the big issue here would be how it could handle a heavy fly wheel/prop and crank shaft strength...

I reckon this would only cost $5,000...so if i was a home builder id be considering it or variations at some point... 4 cylinders of two stroke is a lot more reliable than two or one...

This could become a first world suicide vest

• Winner 1

Johnson Evinrude had V4 2lts decades ago. The Martin jetpack is similar. Problem with these is the woeful fuel burn at full giddyup.

Johnson Evinrude had V4 2lts decades ago. The Martin jetpack is similar. Problem with these is the woeful fuel burn at full giddyup.

I think the airborne time with a Martin jetpack is only a little over 30 minutes because the fuel burn is so horrendous.

The two stroke diesel would be interesting, but once you include the turbo or supercharger and valves you basically back to the weight of a four stroke, with some extra power and heat.

Another matter is that petrol and avgas is about 720 grams per litre. Diesel fuel starts to approach 1 kg per litre. For a good sized tank full of fuel, the difference may be significant for a light aircraft.

• Agree 1
  • Informative 2

Another matter is that petrol and avgas is about 720 grams per litre. Diesel fuel starts to approach 1 kg per litre. For a good sized tank full of fuel, the difference may be significant for a light aircraft.

I just looked it up to confirm:

There are different grades of diesel fuel but the weight range is somewhere between 875 and 960 grams per litre. This is quite a bit more than petrol or avgas.

hey bex the CR500 is 60hp what your thoughts on this 4cly 4 x 500ccwhat sort of hp would it get at the prop