Jab 2200A reliability

cdema

Hi, I'm a new pilot and have acquired an aircraft with a Jab 2200A engine. It has done 316hrs so far and the log books look very thorough.

Just after people's thoughts, experiences, and possible things I may need to be aware of with this engine.

• Like 1

My two cents.... Listen to people who actually own one, not to people who do not own one. I own one 485 hours over 14 years. It's great. For 14 years I've had people bag out Jabiru in front of me. First thing I ask is "So, you own one?" No. "Oh, you fly one?" No. "Oh, you service one?" No. "Oh, you have all the manuals and servicing information on them then? No. "So, you actually have no hands-on experience with them whatsoever do you?" My mate had one, and it was crap! "Yeah, whatever....."

Get onto the Jabiru website and download and print all of the service bulletins and manuals for that serial number engine, and them read them, highlighting things as you go, you'll see them. Keep them in separate A4 folders - Engine Manual, Parts Manual, Service Bulletins, etc. Get organised. And keep a regular eye on the website for updates. You are now the aircraft owner/operator, and you are responsible, whether you can do the work yourself or arrange to have it done. You are responsible. You need to know when things are due to be done. Check your logbook against all the service bulletins and whatnot for that serial number engine. You will no doubt probably find no mention in your logbook about several of them. Treat those as not done, and so do them. For example, two year oil hose and fuel hose life. Will your logbook show that this has been done each two years. If not - what else has not been done?

Enjoy it.

• Like 9
  • Agree 2
  • Winner 1