Wiring an instrument panel

Let me start by saying I used to be an auto electrician, so not too concerned with basic electrical theory etc. What I will need though is some sort of guide, online or otherwise for the conventions of aircraft wiring. And then where to buy supplies like wire? I was looking at aircraft spruce but didn't know where to start!

This is for a kit plane if that matters :-) 

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I used all Tefzel wire (aircraft wire) for mine. I threw away all the automotive wire supplied in the kit and started from scratch. Also any plugs I used for my own wiring harness other than where spades etc are used were all Deustch. Spades and ring terminals should all be double grip and use the correct crimping pliers not those stupid supercheap crap to do the crimps. Breakers are also a must for each power rail you run and of course all radios and EFIS ets should all be fused as well

Mark

• Like 1

RS components supply PTFE insulated 'harsh environment wire that meets mil-spec. The AC43.13-1b has a section on wiring & electrical. If you are an autoelec, you probably already know that Ashdown Ingram supply good switchgear and stuff as well.

Let me start by saying I used to be an auto electrician, so not too concerned with basic electrical theory etc. What I will need though is some sort of guide, online or otherwise for the conventions of aircraft wiring. And then where to buy supplies like wire? I was looking at aircraft spruce but didn't know where to start!This is for a kit plane if that matters

Tefzel aircraft wire is available from Ian's "Clear Prop " shop here in most gauges by the metre.

Mick

• Helpful 2