11900 ft

frankmcm

Any experience of high altitudes?

I stupidly flew under cloud trying to get home a week ago. The base closed down and suddenly I had no horizon visible. I elected to "climb through" as I had a bank indicator. Didnt get there until over 10000ft.

I am appropriately chastened by the experience and wont go there again, but I am interested if this is a common experience.? Jab 450UL with 2200 engine.

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest davidh10

Frank;

As I'm a relatively new pilot. my only experience with having to take avoiding action due to cloud was on a flight where the morning had been foggy and I took off after it lifted to just above circuit height, on the basis that it was going to burn off during the flight.

About 16 miles out, the cloud base had forced me down to 500' AGL and visibility was at minima for VFR. While there was a way, by flying through what was effectively a tunnel toward a higher cloud base, my decision at the time was to abort the flight and return to the point of departure.

The cloud did lift later in the day, so I could have completed the flight ok by pressing on, however the decision had to be taken at the time and conditions could have gone either way. The thought reinforcing my decision was the possibility of losing the back-door.

Given that recreational pilots in Australia are not permitted to fly in IMC (or over 5,000' except for terrain clearance), I doubt anyone would admit to it in a public forum, even if they had done so. Apart from the rules, the education that without appropriate training and instruments, such a venture is virtually certain to end in death should prevent anyone from attempting such a venture. Elsewhere in these forums, an instructor has indicated that his experience of even GA pilots (non-IFR rated) who have therefore had some instrument training, is that many lose control of the aircraft very quickly in IMC.

high altitude flight. (above 10,000')