What can i put in my Log Book?

Hi,

Just a question for those in the know. If i'm an RAA licenced pilot, and i fly in the Right hand seat of a Cessna, but actively participate in the nav etc, is it ok for me to log those hours as Dual hrs in my log book?

We flew over to Avalon and back for the airshow. It was a good experience for me, and a great weekend to boot!

Thanks.

Acky.

If the pilot in command was an authorised instructor - then you need to ask him/her (it should've been clear beforehand when you signed out as a student at the flying school).

If your pilot was not an authorised instructor then take a look at CASA rules on who may operate the controls of an aeroplane.

This probably falls into the gray areas of everything we do is the same as what GA does, apart from the limitations and exemptions written into the CAO's.

One example according to my limited understanding:

2 GA pilots (PPL) flying a Cessna/Piper together, 1 is PIC in left seat, the other actively assisting with Nav & Radio in the right seat. The PPL in the right seat can apparently log 50% of the hours. The CAO's don't specifically exclude this, but (currently) the RAAus Operations Manager does.

In my opinion, common sense in regards to Crew Resource Management and Human Factors would say that you can use all available resources in the cockpit.

I have both HGFA and RAAus trike pilot certificates and trikes registered with both organistions, but only keep a HGFA pilots logbook. Though this is probably less contentious since both organisations administer trikes under the same CAO's (except HGFA is working on getting (re)included in 95.10 at the moment after being told they were never in it, despite previous advice that where you read RAAus that means HGFA too).

Cheers,

Glen