what is with the wind lately

Guest graham campion

Guest graham campion

i have been flying for almost 6 yrs and almost 200hrs tt but lately have come across some weird winds,,whilst flying from howlong 2 weeks ago in the middle of no where flat ground nearest hills some 50nm away and at 1500 ft agl,i got hit with cattabatic type winds lost up to 400 ft then 5 mins later got 200 ft lift?

an hr before this i was flying with one hand on the bar for an hr and had an hr or these terrible winds to get back to holbrook,it was a case of rest 5 mins bang get hit again tried climbing to 3 thou no difference looked at weather map yes we had a low over us but never exp that before ?

did some circuits again wed night with similar low over us but was no where near as bumpy as that sat?

i called yywg when i landed and they exp the same winds and were only 20nm from where it all started!

any body exp the same or what is the best way to deal with this?????

I am to far away and was not flying at those times. So it's not wake turbulence from the Auster Graham! na_na.gif.fad5d8f0b336d92dbd4b3819d01d62e5.gif

I do not think it is necessarily uncommon to run into unexpected patches of rough air, they can be caused by numerous and sometimes seemingly unexplainable reasons. As for dealing with them if there unexpected and not predicted the only real thing to do is simply keep flying the aircraft! If there bad enough and last long enough try climbing or descending out of them.