Green as grass-eying the centre line

Birdz Dowit

hello all,

I am very new to cockpits. I have only 2.5 TIF hrs to put in my log book when it arrives with my RA-Aus Student Lic. I'm flying off a grass RWY in W/Sydney (Au) 900m x 30m in a Jabiru J120. Although I don't expect to posses any great skill I'd like to be a bit better at keeping centred on the run to lift off. I think I'm ok to half speed and then I can feel the instructor moving us left. He told me I was pretty good at compensating for the engine torque but the paralex error just becomes a problem. He was saying that there should be a sight line on the 'dash' that passes thru a point on the engine cowl for a psudo gun sight. And I'm saying: 'wouldn't the front sight have start a couple a couple of inches in from the edge of the cowl and slide into toward the spinner as we neared the end marker????' And that point he let me off the hook because of a look on my face. I'm sure he's right but I have a block when trying to visualise how it could or should work as I close on the end marker. Can someone point to a graphic reprentation or explain what got through to them?

look as far ahead as possible... if your driving a car at 110Kph, you dont look just in front of the car, you look way up ahead, same goes for take off and landing flare. once you get about 30 kts, look right to the end of the runway and thurther. you will find it a lot easier to keep in the centre.