Gyroplanes

Hello,

I see the latest RAA Mag has articles/adds for these gyroplanes.

They look quite flash and well made.(looking at the web sites.)

Is it true that the rotors are not actually powered in flight but use somesort of aerodynamic effect to turn?

What would be the effects of an engine failure?

Regards,

RJM

Hi RJM,

Gyroplanes use autorotation to keep the disc spinning, I think it could be described as being similer to a sail boat that is sailing into the wind. The blades need to be spun up to a given speed, then as the craft moves forward the airflow through the disc keeps them going. When the blades reach their optimum speed the disc has enough lift to allow the craft to fly.

This is probably a bit simplistic, but I'm no expert!

As for engine failure, those who fly them will tell you that they are the safest aircraft around as they can be landed on a postage stamp!

The main rotor is autorotating all the time, and is not driven by the engine, so if the engine stops, all that happens is you gently decend to earth. They do land very short indeed, with almost no landing roll.

Some more sophisticated gyro's have 'pre-rotaters' that spin the blades up prior to the takeoff roll, and some can even 'jump' into the air, giving helicopter like performance. They cannot hover, unless flying into a headwind that matches their minimum flying speed, as the blades need that airflow to generate enough lift.

Hope this helps...

Gerry....

All the above may be true but I believe they can be difficult to fly, especially for a pilot used to fixed wing. They do not have a safety record in line with their supposed safety features.

Those with experience may be able to shoot me down, so don't hold back.

Thanks for your reply gents.

I always thought of them as a bit of a death trap.

Perhaps it was just the homebuilt single seaters and the self taught pilots that

caused some accidents and gave them a bad reputation?