Building a J230

eckertwa

Hello! My name is Wayne Eckertson and I live in Eugene Oregon, USA. I have 500 hours of flying time and a Sport Pilot license. I am a member and past president of my local EAA chapter.

I am in the early stages of building a Jabiru J230. I also have a HKS 700E powered Rans S-14 which I put together in 2007. I documented that build at http://s14build.blogspot.com.

To pay for my airplane addiction, I work as an Electrical Engineer.

I appreciate any advice and help I can get for my J230 build.

• Like 5
  • Agree 1

Welcome to the forum Wayne. I recently finished a UL450 build and now have a real appreciation for paint prep and pin holes. You'll get to know what I mean. I used the Stewart Systems water borne paint system and ended up with a nice finish. I am not a painter but followed the instructions and it worked. Please pay great attention to your engine installation and cooling set up.

Regards, Laurie

• Like 1

• 3 weeks later...
Hello! My name is Wayne Eckertson and I live in Eugene Oregon, USA. I have 500 hours of flying time and a Sport Pilot license. I am a member and past president of my local EAA chapter.I am in the early stages of building a Jabiru J230. I also have a HKS 700E powered Rans S-14 which I put together in 2007. I documented that build at http://s14build.blogspot.com.

To pay for my airplane addiction, I work as an Electrical Engineer.

I appreciate any advice and help I can get for my J230 build.

Welcome Wayne,

I too work in the electrical game to pay for the fun times.

IF you add a little bit here and there it will end up heavier than the factory built one by a bit more than you might think.. They fly OK . Just run out of trim effectiveness at both ends of the speed envelope. Nev

Hello Keenaviator. I am a long way away from painting. Do you have a website with photos of your build?