Nikosil cylinders

Russ

I have been using Limbach motors with Nikasil cylinders for over 20 years ( not the same one ) and they do not wear.

And yes the rings have to be special also. An ordinary hone will not touch them.

Now the process is called electrosil and used extensively by motor bike racing folks. A company in Melbourne does them.

Limbach also proved you need two carburetors and very well designed inlet manifolds for flat four engines for aircraft use.

There's no place like cloud-base.

John.

It is an electroplating process. Depending on what you want the wear resistance can be anywhere from 4 to 10 times better than cast iron or chrome bores.

John.

Guest Andys@coffs

Correct...There is an equiv for steel cylinders, though. I have heard of someone having it done in BNE but it didn't last long before is flaked off... (not sure if it was an application of the wrong plating to the wrong cylinder material, or its just dodgy) As suggested above there is a place in Melbourne that can do them I believed the process is called Eurosil but I cant now find the email trail from the L4 that I was discussing it with back then to confirm...Google doesn't seem to be my friend, but I'm not 100% sure of what I'm looking for, because Its not an area (firewall forward!) that I claim any detailed expertise over.

I contacted the place in melb a couple of years ago inquiring about the process , i thought it was nicocil ,

They didn't want to do jabiru barrels , as they said the process wasnt suited to chrome / molly , they mentioned a couple of failed attemts .

I dont have that contact ,

( Lost data in a phone update )

Mike.

The intent of the process is to coat aluminium directly with a wafer thin coating to save weight and improve heat dissipation. I am aware of people who have removed their ferrous sleeves and coated the aluminium cylinder but they were looking for a capacity increase via a larger bore more than other reason.