Comparison of OzRunways vs. AvPlan EFB on iPad

I have been a happy OzRunways user for a couple years now and know it very well. As an RA-Aus pilot I've found it brilliant for my needs whenever I fly, and particularly for the longer cross country trips (esp. exporting a GPX flight plan to my Dynon autopilot via USB).

However, I know a few GA IFR pilots that swear by AvPlan (but don't use OzRunways). I have quickly browsed the AvPlan interface, but find it less intuitive, so I never made much effort to learn it in-depth, as I have with OzRunways.

Question: should I make the effort to learn AvPlan & consider using this software instead? Are there significant advantages with AvPlan, or is it simply better suited to IFR or GA?

It seemed in the early development years that they incrementally leapfrogged one-another on features, but I suspect they have stabilised this with roughly equivalent capability in recent months.

I don't want to inflame passionate users of one or the other into blind advocacy posts here. Instead, I was just hoping for a couple responses from "power users" who are very familiar with both apps. If there are good reasons to change to AvPlan, I would make the effort to learn that interface too. Otherwise I will happily stick with the OzRunways app that I know so well.

Dave

• Like 1

• Replies 103
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Guest Maj Millard

Used Ozrunways now going on three years,two long trips Townsville- Temora, and many shorter ones within Qld.

You can trust Ozrunways, it's always there with you and the WX overlay is magic. A very satisfied Ozrunways user.