Hi everyone...

Guest Jess

My name is Jess, and I am very new to the idea of flying! At the moment I am in the seriously considering (and saving) stage of flying lessons... I guess Cessnock would be the nearest option for me... Anyway, if anyone has any tips or advice for starting around Newcastle, that would be great!

Cheers...

PS - I am very new to the whole forum thing - forgive me if I mess up here and there!

Thanks guys - I have checked out a few of the forums - everyone sounds very knowledgable! I haven't progressed much further than 'ooh, that red and yellow biplane looks pretty!' stage, but I will get there, I guess! One of the reasons behind this idea is that my mum used to fly when she was much younger, and now has MS, so I would like to be able to go flying with her one day... If she is brave enough!!!

Thanks Chris...

Do you have any advice on good books/websites etc on flying, especially on types of aircraft and other useful things? I am a bit lost!

Thanks again...

Guest disperse

Hi Jess, I'm only up to around 7hrs in training.

first check out the training schools in your area (unless you want to do a live in training).

decide on 3 axis (normal) or weight shift (hang glider with a engine)

once you know which schools are close enough to you. then your pretty well stuck with the airplanes that they have.

most seem to be the Jabiru (I'm learning in a jabiru lsa55) but there are others such as the Lightwing which is a taildragger.

if you havn't yet check out the Ra-aus web site (click the link)

they have a lot of infomation there. but my biggest problem was understanding the numerous abbreviations...

if you search around ther site they do have a list of registerd schools.

but most of all keep asking questions here, because this is where I've got most of my imformation.........that and Google searching everything