Aircraft and tax

nig71

without stirring up a hornets nest, what do you do with tax and aircraft as part of your business? I am a farmer wanting to purchase my first aircraft. What can I legitimately claim and how can it be structured? My accountant says I may be able to claim a portion of expenses and will probably have to keep a logbook. I want to use the aircraft to go to clearing sales and farm shows. Plus crop, stock and water inspection. They are correct in noting it would be just as practical to drive around my 5000acre property but I would also be wearing out a deductible vehicle doing that. Yes I am enjoying myself while I do it but I see no law against enjoying your job. Otherwise the taxation department would force us all to drive Ladas so we wouldn't enjoy what we are doing . Running costs in real terms would be similar to my dual cab which depreciates at $10k/year and return similar fuel costs.

• Replies 50
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

Opening a can of worms here, but in general, just because it's not a sound business decisions doesn't mean it's not deductible. If that were the case, corporate jets wouldn't exist! If you are using the aircraft for legitimate business purposes, there's no reason why the cost can't be deductible. Best speak to an accountant for your specific situation, but there are certain business purposes that I use my plane for and I always claim the wet hourly rate and have never had my accountant take issue with it. I'm sure you could be more aggressive with the depreciation, especially if it was majority business use.

• Like 1
  • Caution 1

NIG,

In my opinion, using a fixed wing plane to look at that size property is a waste of time and effort.

My brother in law has a property just a little larger than that and the best aircraft to do the job is a powered parachute.