RA licence and aircraft rego

Geoff_H

I am still a GA pilot, but now retired and my beloved Mooney sold I am looking for a smaller simpler VFR aircraft. Something that costs less but still gives that joy of flying. My wife hates flying so long distance is no longer a requirement. RA flying looks to suit me, however I am having trouble understanding the various aircraft tail number designations. What's the difference between 28 and 19? Why was the Morgan numbers changed. I want to limit my spending, which aircraft type should I buy?

• Haha 1

The CASA material is pretty complicated by all of the cross references to different parts of the regulations.

But there's a good summary of the categories in the current issue (Jan/March 2017) of Aero Australia magazine.

• Helpful 1

I am still a GA pilot, but now retired and my beloved Mooney sold I am looking for a smaller simpler VFR aircraft. Something that costs less but still gives that joy of flying. My wife hates flying so long distance is no longer a requirement. RA flying looks to suit me, however I am having trouble understanding the various aircraft tail number designations. What's the difference between 28 and 19? Why was the Morgan numbers changed. I want to limit my spending, which aircraft type should I buy?

You should buy one of these. In fact this one even LOL.

http://recreationalflying.com/classifieds/x-air-hanuman-for-sale.271/

Most RAA aircraft you'll find are either 24 prefix or 19 prefix.

19 are kit/home built. Owner maintained. Some limitations where you can fly I think.

24 are factory built and can be used for hire/reward & training if L2 maintained. (Private use can be L1 (owner) maintained).

The way things are if you still have a class 2 buy a good Piper Cub at the right price and mix around and enjoy it. See how the RAAus scene settles down and play it by ear, after that. Nev