What would you recommend for my situation? RA-Aus or RPL?

What would you recommend for my situation? RA-Aus or RPL?  

27 members have voted

1. 1. What would you recommend for my situation? RA-Aus or RPL?

• RA-Aus certificate
    • RPL

Hi all,

I'm currently a final year university student and an avid aviation fan since childhood. Having completed my final exams, this year is free for me to hopefully learn how to fly a plane and obtain a license for recreational flying.

My end goal is to be able to take my family and friends on general flights, for instance Adelaide to Kangaroo Island, as well as to simply fly for fun. I would also work on gaining further training and endorsements after this in order to do so following gaining a basic license.

PPL is on my goal list in the long term once I start working next year and accruing funds, so for now I'd like to decide between the RA-Aus and RPL.

I have two options to do this, and I'm not sure which would benefit me more in terms of cost, and so I hope you may be able to provide me with some advice on which to take.

Currently my options are:

1) RA-Aus at Adelaide Soaring Club, learning on the Jabiru J170 at $138/hr + annual student (concession) membership fees of $46, and convert to RPL with further training afterwards

OR

2) Go straight for RPL training with a flight school and disregard the RA-Aus course completely?

Which would you recommend I do in terms of cost and efficiency?

Thank you all for your help!

Come to the Adelaide Soaring Club. You will also have the chance to fly gliders and this should be an added advantage in getting a commercial job.

Armstrong was chosen partly because of his gliding and Sullenberger should influence recruiters in my opinion.

• Agree 1