Interested in building a Savannah S

hangdoc

Hi

I am a pilot in Hamilton, NZ. Currently flying a Zenair 601xl and liking it plenty but have a thirst for a STOL machine and to build it myself if necessary. I have built a Skyranger before but otherwise am green to the building process although not too daunted by it. Like the extensive forum posts on building the Savannah too!

Paul

HiI am a pilot in Hamilton, NZ. Currently flying a Zenair 601xl and liking it plenty but have a thirst for a STOL machine and to build it myself if necessary. I have built a Skyranger before but otherwise am green to the building process although not too daunted by it. Like the extensive forum posts on building the Savannah too!

Paul

Hi Paul, and welcome.

Part way through my (first) build here, and have found this place and it's members to be an invaluable resource, both in the build and in all aspects of flying (I'm low hours).

Welcome Paul.

You should get good info from tjis site. I havn't built a Savvy, but have seen several being constructed and they look very easy. They are also very good planes to fly.

They are far easier to build than the couple that I have built whioch are a Corby Starlet and an RV4.

The aluminium seems to come all cut and shaped and oles drilled, so it is just a quick build using pulled rivets. If I was thinking of building again that is the way i would go.

Whatever, enjoy flying and building.

• Like 1

Welcome hangdoc.

I am planning to build a Savannah starting later this year (when I can get a couple of months off work). I have researched many kinds of aircraft and, no matter which I looked at it, the Savannah continued to tick most of the boxes for me.

• Like 1

Welcome hangdoc.I am planning to build a Savannah starting later this year (when I can get a couple of months off work). I have researched many kinds of aircraft and, no matter which I looked at it, the Savannah continued to tick most of the boxes for me.