Does your aircraft fit your flying style?

I have been flying ultralights for over 35 years. I began flying with a gliding club while building a very early, US hang glider based rag & tube Pteradactyl. I moved through with Thrusters, Jeeps and Javelins while a member of Holbrook Ultralight club. I bought an Evans VP2 in the 90's and flew it for 11 years. During this time I modified it structurally, adding a full turtle deck to improve airflow over the tail. I experimented, with fair success, with EFI to an Aeropower 2070cc VW. I have flown in some exotic types eg. Lancair 320, and had a hankering for perhaps a Sonex or a Corby Starlet. Now I fly a Kitfox or ThrusterT300 around my patch. But it was when I started flying RC models that I found that some aircraft didn't suit my flying style. While my mate could fly a tea tray with an engine bolted on, I quickly got out of my depth with the sports models and found myself very, "behind the aeroplane". Do others feel content with 60kt aircraft and resist the urge to go faster and sportier? Don

• Like 1

Everyone will have a different answer to that question. For me 60 kts is too slow but on the other hand 180 kts would be too fast. What I have is a good compromise, so I'm happy.

rgmwa

• Like 1

I am happy with what I have got. The Corby is in my opinion the ultimate pilots machine, so nice to fly and low costs as well. The RV4 allows me to carry camping gear, or a passenger and it is still a pilots aeroplane. All I am missing is that slow flight with a clear view below. Maybe I need to add the Thruster to my fleet.

Good to 'meet' another 'Dactyl' builder/pilot, Methusala. I built mine in 1979, & replaced the Sachs 25hp direct drive with a Robin 50hp with reduction drive & prop of my own. Later added a canard. I loved that plane, & did a lot of flying, including some quite ambitious X country & even a night flight.