New member, lousy pilot, getting ready to build an experimental (Sling 2, Arion Lightning XS, or RV-

Guest langted

Guest langted

Hi Everyone: This looks like an interesting forum, hoping to pick up some insights here.

I am a recently retired mechanical engineer, RC modeller, 61 years, 6' 220lbs, and got my private ticket about 8 years ago. Mostly, I fly a Citabria 7ECA (tailwheel with about a 95 mph IAS cruise). I'd like to say I'm a great pilot, but alas, certainly nothing to support any such claim except no accidents. I want to start an experimental build later this Summer (2018). I am a little torn between ELSA, and normal experimental (I want the speed, but also sensitive to how many years I might still be able to fly). Looking for any experiences anyone might have with the following aircraft, or with rotax or jabiru engines:

--Sling 2, Rotax powered. I love every aspect of this plane EXCEPT the LSA speed limit cruise of under 130 mph. Excellent kit/instructions, reasonable number flying, reasonable build time, big cockpit, sliding canopy, robust landing gear.

--RV-9 Probably everybody knows this airplane. Speed is great (~175 TAS cruise), cockpit OK, but very long build time. Interested mostly in inputs about how long it will really take to complete for "quickbuild" version, possibly with panel assistance. I am afraid I might die before I ever complete that airplane (or at least loose a lot of prime years-- I'd like to finish in no more than 2 years).

--Arion Lightning: Fast enough, Lots of power choices (lycoming, UL, Jabiru ( for either LSA or EXP), appears to be a great plane, VERY quick build, but concerned with number flying, whether gear is sufficiently robust, and whether the Jabiru engine, if chosen, is reliable. I visited Arion and flew the O-320 version. Nice flight, but not permitted to land it.

After setting up a spreadsheet of options, it appears to me that all of these airplanes come in at about the same final price.