Changing instructors?

Guest adamneat

Guest adamneat

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie (pre-solo) with about 7 flight time hours under my belt. I'm keen to hear people's perspective on changing instructors (or flight school if need be) at this stage of your training.

I'm happy with my school and their facilities but I'm not yet convinced that I've 'clicked' with my instructor yet - given I only fly once a month our relationship might still be in the growing phase, but, a few things over the past few lessons have made me wonder if I should investigate a change.

Some background - I dont have any reservation on my instructors flying ability, but like all people, some folk are just better at teaching than others.

Having read other posts on here along similar topics, I understand there is a need to have a good working relationship (if I can call it that??) with your instructor.

So my question is this - what are other peoples experience in this area, and for the more experienced people on here (and hopefully instructors reading this thread), should I perserve and stick it out or? (another option is to move schools - not my #1 preference but my current school does have sister clubs).

Thanks

A.

Hi Adam, Before taking notice of anyone on this site, you need to sit down with your instructor and fully explain where you're coming from and what you perceive as failings on his part. If he can't or won't change his stance, then by all means, move on.

Guest disperse

I've got about the same hours. But have simple gone with which ever instructor is available. So I don't really have a instructor, I have a school. This is good and bad.

But the good things about this is as long as there is a plane and a instructor standing around.... I go flying (rarely ring and book).

Somethings that I've struggled with have became instantly clear when put another way. And I understand The need to know WHY things work not just HOW. because if I know WHY, then HOW is just logical.