Advice

Guest ducky

Hi,

I'm a Year 12 student approaching the end of schooling and I'm thinking about my future. I've always wanted to do an engineering degree, and thats what I'm going to do. Having said that, I have also always had an interest in aviation and I really want to learn to fly, maybe even as a career on its own, or simply just to complement my engineering career. I'm also taking a year to go overseas before uni, so I've decided that later next year, when I'm back, I'll at least start towards it by getting a job to fund training. But when I went looking around for flight schools, the idea of doing a helicopter license came up. I really like the idea of doing it, but I'm not really sure where it could take me in comparison to an fixed wing license. Anyone got any advice for me?

Ducky

Guest aviatrix27

Welcome Ducky.

There are so many options - all with associated costs and benefits. I'm a private pilot and fly purely for fun, but other members here are working in the aviation industry so would be more help to you. Don't forget to look for scholarships - flying training is expensive, so you should grab any help along the way.

Why not call in to the chat room - especially when there's more than one member already in there. If the people there can't help you maybe they can direct you to a place to find the information you're looking for.

Good luck!

I have several friends in NZ who have done their engineering training and work with the RNZAF, and now after having left the RNZAF are flying commercially for Eagle Air etc in NZ. One still keeps his hand in engineering, and is the one who has restored the engines on the Bristol Freighter to running condition.