Finding out of the way airstrips

Toppee

I'm a student pilot on my way t oPPL. When I get there I was hoping to be able to visit friends in Lakes Entrance and Port Campbell (actually Timboon) I can see an airport at Lakes Entrance (though landing fees seem high!) but wondered about port campbell. I know there is a helicopter base at port campbell and I know planes fly down there to show off the 12 apostles but not sure if I can get to my friends at Timboon by plane? Whats the best way to find out? Just lookup the ERSA?

Cobden is a really friendly strip. Lakes entrance landing fees are pretty steep. There is a strip at the top of the hill before you get to the township but not sure of the go there.

There are two strips down near lakes entrance. Sounds like you have been looking at YGRL.

Give them a ring at YLKE. Interesting sloping grass strip and very modest fee even for for overnight parking. Still only 5 minutes out of town.

-I believe the country airstrip guide can be purchased as part of a subscription to a well-known Electronic Flight Bag-

Yes it can! But to be honest I didn't find much in it that cannot be found from other sources online. Even though it is renewed every year, (and so you have to re-subscribe annually) I felt that some of the information was very old and bears little relationship to the situation on the ground, at least at the airstrips I visited (predominantly in the Territory).

That said I will resubscribe... Its fun to look through and plan adventures. But the airstrip guides on here are actually very useful tools especially for trip planning...

• Like 1