Literally just landed......well yesterday, got a few questions...Brisbane initially

Clive J

I'm a UK pilot just arrived on tour ending up at the GP in Melbourne.

I've been lurking on here on and off for many years as I built a Jabiru in 1999 and enjoyed all the discussions about the engine and aircraft. My profile shows I joined in 2009, time flies.

Always knew I'd get here one day and at last we are here!

I'm in Brisbane and having a sneaky look at the flying opportunities on the RAA website while the wife is sleeping off the time change.

I note that there's quite a few 'Clubs' and other flying organisations.

I'd like to get converted and then rent an aircraft in the areas we loiter while on tour here. The RAA suggests this maybe straightforward? Also found an old discussion on here which said the same.

I'm assuming the clubs that rent aircraft do that for the benefit of their members so I really need to find a commercial organisation so I'm not taking advantage of a club set up.

If anyone is in the know of suitable organisation they would recommend I'd be please to hear from them! Future locations will be Sydney and Melbourne....at least.

Regards, CJ

P.S. am trawling the RAA map and sending E mails but not sure which to target hence request for suggestions...

G-JBSP-Cromer-11Oct09-497.thumb.jpg.a125b68ded99234c4b5fd39afbb95a86.jpg

g'day Clive - you've arrived in Oz at a very interesting time - remember the poem that mentions "drought, and flooding rain" - it left out bushfires!!! in fact you've turned up just after most of that nastiness, all that green stuff you can see on the ground wasn't here a month ago...

if you like 'country' flying with all the benefits that brings you might want to check out these guys at Boonah (about two hours drive from Brisbane, but a 'nice' drive, not through traffic).

https://airsportqld.com.au/