Savannah VG

Jon Bown

Hi have just purchased a 2005 VG completed but never flown, have just noticed that it does not have the jury struts on the front wing support, was this a mod or have they just left it off. Is it worth while doing the 544kg to 560kg MTOW mod. PS I am new to any forum so don't know how they work sorry if I have done this wrong. Jon

I am not sure if the jury strut is part of the 560 upgrade but I know you need added rear fuselage section corner pieces as part of that upgrade.

If it has never been flown I would be getting someone to have a real good look over every part of that aircraft. Someone who knows savannahs very well not just any LAME

• Like 1

I am not sure if the jury strut is part of the 560 upgrade but I know you need added rear fuselage section corner pieces as part of that upgrade.

If it has never been flown I would be getting someone to have a real good look over every part of that aircraft. Someone who knows savannahs very well not just any LAME

And heavier wing root attachments, and most critically, doubled strut to wing spar attachments.

The jury struts are part of the upgrade kit but some didn't bother with them.

• Like 1

Jury struts generally function in negative "G"or wing twist situations. Nev

The increase of 544 kg to 560 kg is only an additional 16 kg. Of course, at the ultimate load factor of 6 G this adds 96 kg before catastrophic failure of the Savannah's structure.

Nevertheless, the additional strengthening seems quite substantial for a less than 3% MTOW increase. This makes me wonder if the original Savannah was somewhat 'under designed' in the first place?

Perhaps ICP used that 16 kg increase as an explanation to have this extra strengthening added just to be sure?

• Like 1