Learning about lift generation - a waste of time.

Last month I got into a discussion here of the Newton/Bernoulli theories of lift generation. I decided to research the subject so that I could write an informative paper on the subject and publish it here. Well, I did do that research. I read as much as possible on Newton's Three Laws of Motion, and I studied up on Bernoulli's theorem. I also delved into flat plate aerodynamics which really is the starting point of aerofoil design. 

I came up with some really good stuff and figured out some good examples to explain the things I had found out. I had even created a lot of the text in my mind. Then this morning, as I was washing up the breakfast dishes and looking out the into the distance through the kitchen window, I had a Eureka! moment.

I realise that for a pilot, knowing the physics of lift generation is not necessary for piloting an aircraft. Does an 8-year-old need to know the aerodynamics of one of these in order to "fly" it?

image.jpeg.8b048e79a4c8f67b5ff64f0befac536d.jpeg

Does any average person know the physics of how their car manages to turn corners? Or the thermodynamics of the combustion process that produces the forces necessary to propel a car? NO. As long as the driver has the skills required to make the car go in the desired direction, and the desired velocity, then the practical operation of the car is achieved.