Start Batteries AGAIN

skippydiesel

Yes I did a search but was not satisfied with the result -

Your comments/thoughts will be of immense interest on "best bank for the buck"

This is a for Rotax 912 ULS (100hp) application.

I have been using an SSB, Part Number RB16CL-B, for about 7 years - very happy! https://superstart.com.au/ (still goes to 14.2V on the trickle charger)

CCA: 385, Amp Hour: 19, Weight 6.6 Kg

Way more power than the Rotax recommended  battery specifications and in a lighter package to boot - couldn't be happier.

BUT

Have been looking into a replacement aircraft, currently fitted with an Odyssey PC 680 - CCA: 170, Amp Hrs: 16 & Weight: 7 kg.

Both SSB & Odyssey are of Absorbed Glass Matt construction and can be mounted in any position.

With the exception of length,the Odyssey is slightly smaller and heavier, than the SSB  but at 16 Ah & 170 CCA, is way less output than the SSB.

Clearly both batteries can "do the job".

The SSB is cheaper, apparently more powerful & has a good service life (I probably should retire mine to lawn mower duties) BUT is it overkill in the power department?

What, if any, are the practical/operational ramifications in using a more powerful battery, than specified by Rotax ?

Note: Battery to starter cable lengths are as short as possible. Cable diameter is appropriate for application and all connections (including earth return) are "good"

You'd use a more powerful battery than Rotax specify for the aircraft loads rather than the engine, so its not overkill.

If stuck in the boondocks and leaving the master on you will probably appreciate the bigger battery anyway.

I've used a Genesis 925 (commercial grade version of Odyssey, same specs there is also a Fullriver line the major difference is yellow black or red casing)

There is someting odd about the PC680 specs where the PC625 are better despite being smaller, presumably cheaper.