IMC topics

Facthunter said :

"My days of flying in IMC without a reasonable cloud base on a piston single are well over (I hope) You are trusting everything to your engine IF you don't get visual before hitting the ground.  The only way to cope with ice like that is to  descend and get above freezing by a couple of degrees.. You have to be aware of LSALT in those situations. Using a Flight Level Below 10,000 feet? Transition height/level is 10,000 feet onto a valid QNH.. THAT way you have separation with other traffic  That vid made it look easy. The weather at destination would have required an alternate  on the x wind alone especially when the runway is wet.  Nev"

------------------------------------------------------------------------

Speaking from zero experience , and I have little knowledge of IIMC proceedures and IFR , my interest in flying IMC is certainly not  crossing the mountains in cloud - I can stay at home that day. no commercial imperative !   

A couple of instances I can think of - Bass Strait, seems you want to go high for glide, but high often has cloud.  but say,  is  BLW FRZLVL

Over water, If the conditions are VMC below  3000', and cloud 4000-10000, and you have a wx report that ther cloud does NOT extend over land and or is VMC over land, why not just cruise in the cloud at 9000?  Does this require a specific IFR clearance from ATC  when OCTA (I need to do somr reading) , as how can separation be assured/maintained  ?  and if Class E got lowered below 10k feet, would this preclude ad-hoc  ops in IMC at 9000' without specific clearance to IFR traffic in Class E ?

Edited by RFguy