St Louis Savannah S

Savannah Kurt

Hello everybody!

I'm new to this site/group and have already found it to be a vital resource! I just received my Savannah S kit in mid-September and am having a BLAST building it!

I got the Savannah S with quad fuel tanks, adjustable seats, electric flaps and trim.

I am a one-armed pilot so I have designed and programmed a servo operated throttle and throttle position display using an Arduino controller and a 16x2 LCD display. The throttle is designed with manual reversion in case any servo/electrical issues occur. Throttle, flaps and trim are all controlled with stick mounted buttons. 

I started building at the tail (as per my ICP USA representative suggested) and have completed the "fin", rudder, horizontal stabilizer, elevator (mostly), flaps and ailerons. I haven't completed the elevator/trim tab because I was waiting for missing parts to get shipped. I'm now in the middle of my first wing now and am working on the fuel tanks. After reading everybody's discussions on fuel tanks, I think I like what iBob is doing - 1 valve per fuel tank. Absolute control and no danger of overflow due to cross-flow. Take off on inner tanks, switch to outer tanks till dry, switch back to inner tanks. I may install an actual fuel gauge in my header tank as a backup to the inscrutable warning light. I'm adding a buzzer to the light as well.

I'm enjoying your projects, hints, tips, tricks and humor! Keep it coming.

I'm on the EAA Builder's Log site, but it's not always up to date. I'm keeping a paper log with printed pictures for the FAA and am updating the EAA site when time permits.