Jabiru a Good Buy?

Jeffmel

Background: I am a student, close to get my RPC. I will then get my nav endorsment and progress to PPL at least, maybe CPL.

My school is selling their old Jabiru J160, engien has done close to 1000 hrs, at which time it requires an over haul. It costs around $8k and it will last another 1000 hrs. 25 hrly oil change in between maybe $150 each time. 

After some simple caculation this works well for me. But Ive also heard many bad stories about their service cost and engine reliability. 

Any advice?

Edited by Jeffmel

Paraphrasing from a PPrune post: The one plane you don't want to fly in due to their engine reliability is a Jabiru...However, the one plane you DO want to fly in, should you have to crash is a Jabiru! 

Depends on what the school is asking though. A J160 for around $30K or so isn't a bad "first plane". I'd certainly consider one as a "commuter" should I get a new job that's a 3H drive or 1H flight away.

• Agree 1

Jeff

J160 is a nice plane for a first plane, they are a speedbird.  30k is a good deal....

while a training plane has been bounced down the runway all its life, it will have been well maintained (or required to have been, anyway) 

Their minimum flying speed is a bit faster than the other jabs like 170/230, but I think its a fine first plane.

How many hours has the airframe got, total time ???? you could be up for teleflex cables , undercarriage bolts, etc if it is very high hour. 
is it a B or a C ?

Has it got a wooden or composite prop ?

Rob is right- the Jabiru is very crashworthy. And it will never rust. and they are QUIET inside compared to metal bodied airplanes. Parts are plentiful. Advice is plentiful god and bad. 

The wing and length to tail are well proportioned on that aircraft IMO.  

-glen
(J230 owner, maintainer) 

Edited by RFguy
  • Like 1
  • Agree 1

5 hours ago, RFguy said:

Jeff

J160 is a nice plane for a first plane, they are a speedbird.  30k is a good deal....