Raa - Ppl Conversion

Hi All,

I am currently an RAA licenced pilot with 120+ hours and on the way to obtaining my nav endorsement.

In the near future I plan to obtain my PPL! I was just wondering if you could help me with whats involved!

I know that I have to do 2 hours IF and 10 hours Nav and 5 hours command nav - but is that all?

Do I need to do a GFPT first or can I just convert straight over to PPL? are there are a minimum number of hours I must do in a VH registered aircraft?

Just some general info would be a great help!

Cheers :)

Hi Joe,

I'll try and answer for you, but there will be a few holes.

This is what I did in your exact position and I converted from an RA-Aus cert with Nav component to my PPL in 3.5 hours plus the flight test.

- Start studying for your PPL(A) theory exam. W&B, First & last light, time conversions, weather and some human factors in particular. You should not have to do a BAK / GFPT exam and if you don't want to go solo in a GA aircraft before getting your PPL you don't need the GFPT. If the school insists on it, go elsewhere or talk to the ATO or CFI.

- Finish yoru NAV rating in RA-Aus.

- Apply for your ASIC or AVID card

- make sure you log a flight of 180nm+? with a few stops (whatever it is to meet the requirement is in the PPL day VFR syllabus)

- Log instrument time if you can in the RA-Aus registered aircraft. Every time you are dual on the way home or the way out to on a nav, go under the hood. Instrument time does NOT have to be in a GA registered aircract.

- Do a lesson of familiarisation in a GA aircraft, eg a 172, they are easy, especially if after flying a Jabiru or similar around

- Do some flights in CTA in the GA aircraft

- Consider not worring at first about controlled airspace - it's optional, depending on the airport you are operating out of - that will speed up the process considerably