Hi all

Jonny_J

Hi everyone,

I'm a little new to flying and a little new to Australia! I'm originally from the UK, where I racked up somewhere in the ball park of 20 hours as a teen in an RAF youth program, but haven't flown in nearly 20 years. I've been in Melbourne for almost two years, and now starting to feel like it's really time to get back up there! I did a TIF a week ago, just to see if maybe it wasn't as good as I remembered, and boy was that incorrect lol!

So far I've mostly just been trying to work out how the licencing differs here to home, and what's changed in the last 2 decades lol! The plan now is really to save and head towards my PPL(A). While saving I'm mostly going to be studying theory, practicing in desktop sims and taking occasional lessons until I can afford to have an intensive couple of months of lessons to get my RA cert or RPL and go from there.

Long term goal? Personally I think it's too early to be concrete about one, wait until I've got 50+ hours on my belt and I might have a better idea what's next, but I've been training people in technology for years, so flight instructor is a very appealing long term goal :)

Hi and welcome Jonny.

I'm sure that with your experience from 20 years ago, you will breeze through the training. I can speak for RAA, you will need at least 25 hours with 5 of those being solo before you can go for your flight test, and pass 5 multiple choice tests, maybe 4 these days. That qualifies you to fly a 1-2 seater with MTOW no greater than 600kg with fixed undercarriage and a stall speed in landing configuation no greater than 40kts(not sure about this, it may be 35kts). If floats are attached, and you have a float plane endorsement, MTOW can be up to 650kg.

Not sure what you need for a CASA RPL, but I know you can convert over quite easily after you have your RAA RPC with XC endorsement. I think you need a Class 1 or 2 Aviation Medical Cert and do a flight test in the bigger plane.