Hi all

Matt Gilks

I'm Matt, I live in Narangba in QLD, not far from both Caboolture and Redcliffe airfields. I don't fly as yet, but hope to have an initial crack at the recreational pilot flight training this year (finances permitting).

I'm an aerospace engineer, in addition to a trade background as an AME, and my desire to fly is based mostly on the desire to design and build my own aircraft, and that it would be a bit silly to do that if I can't fly it! I'm currently working on the design of a two place aircraft of about 1100 lb AUW, however it is in the very preliminary stage at this time!

I hope to learn a bit more about flight training, regulations, construction, etc here, and if possible, contribute something along the way.

cheers

Matt

Guest TOSGcentral

Hi Matt,

Welcome aboard.

I am sure that your background and knowledge input will be as valuable to us as ours may be to yourself.

I am 30 miles inland of you (but 60 by road :)) so if you ever feel the itch to take a drive in the country you are welcome to come in and chew the fat, perhaps go for a flight, or potter about in the workshop which is full of development projects at the moment.

I have been around for a while so can give you a reasonable perspective of the rec flying scenario.

Aye

Tony

Hi Tony,

Thanks for the welcome and the invite up to your part of the world.

I was hoping to get up to Watts Bridge for the QVAG fly in, but given the amount of rain in the area at the time I gave it a miss believing it would have been washed out. I will try to get out there this year, in between an impending move into a new house and finding another job!

I wouldn't mind having a look around the workshop if it's full of development projects!

cheers

Matt

Guest TOSGcentral

Hi Matt,

The QVAG fly in really is a 'must-see'! The one before last we had an Avenger and Mustang here plus the usual big roll up of unusual types.