T84 Prototype found???

Guest TOSGcentral

Guest TOSGcentral

For the historical and heritage buffs out there......

This came up for air yesterday morning and I am waiting for one more photograph to prove it conclusively.

I have been hunting for this damn thing for over 11 years and find it has been in storage for the last 15 years - which is why I could not find it.

It seems to be intact and undamaged but will need a lot of work on it after that time.

Only between 5 and 7 T84s appear to have been built and the prototype had a distinctly different fin before they moved to the G type tail unit for the rest and then so quickly moved on to the T85.

They have always been a pest for me as senior original factory guys had forgotten entirely that they had made them! I had to show them a photo of one to convince them i_dunno I still did not get any further information - had to work it out myself!

If I can get this at the right price then I will just have to add it to my growing collection - and probably collect a divorce because I really am getting short of room, especially if I pick up the Flash as well.

Keeps me off the streets I suppose.

Aye

Tony

Guest TOSGcentral

Alas, I am no further ahead! More photos came in and the machine in fact is a production T84.

The serial number is 8410 (or possibly 8418) This is interesting as it could indicate that either more T84s were built than I thought - or there were more Glasshouses than the ten that I know of (both types were built concurrently).

The T84 was what I term a 'transitional' type and marked the point in Thruster evolution that began developing what would become standardised tube size allocation that continued into the ANO 95.25 types.