J160

Ross

G'day Ross

I have just ordered a J230 that will be built in Wagga.

How is yours going and are there any others under construction in the Riverina?

Regards Geoff

Hi Geoff

The only one I know of is at Mildura being built by Tom O'Donnell. It is a J170, longer wet wings,the fuselage is mostly completed (I have not seen it). He has not purchased the wings or engine yet that I know of.

Thanks Ross

How is yours going & do you have any pics?

And can I come back to you for tips?

I've set myself a target to be flying by October. That's probably wildly optimistic, but we'll have fun finding out.

Regards Geoff

Hi Geoff

Your enquiries will be welcome. But I am no expert.

I have plenty of photos. Our J160 kitwas delivered on about 14thDec 2004 and is number 14 of the J160 series with wet wings and mechanical tappets. I had a major interruption to the work from June 2005 till March 2006 but now have no excuse aside from family & friends visiting occasionally. Geoff Waddleton from Mildura helped by sending photos of various parts.

Not having anybody to talk to about it was a major obstacle. It took me a while to make the contacts forfinding infoon handlingepoxy, filling rough areas, paint, aircraft grade bolt supplies, sandpaper grades and solving some of the problems while building the aircraft. The factory people were very helpful and will give advice on any area required. One of the troubles was the quality of the English in their construction manual whichwas better than Japanese English but did result ina number of vague instructions.