Radio Frequency

Nev25

I was out at the local airfield (Latrobe Valley) the other day Talking to a flying instructor who turned on his scanner and got a local weather report.

He told me it ran 24/7 and the frequency was 128.2.

When I got home I punched 128.2 into my scanner and heard nothing.

My scanner only receives AM in this band.

So I'm wondering is this the right Frequency or is it on the FM Band??

Can someone shed some light on this as I'm a complete newbie

Guest Fred Bear

Being 128.2 Nev it would be on the AM band. I will look up the freq and get back to you. There are several reasons you may not be rec it for where you are. Could be terrain, atmospheric conditions at the time, buildings etc etc. AM is a noisy band at the best of times and some days are better than others. Again, let me look into it for you.

Guest Fred Bear

Here is the info on this transmitter. Looks like the Latrobe AWS (Automatic Weather Station).

1316853-1313784 128.2000000 MHz 6K00A3E AWIBS Site LATROBE VALLEY AIRPORT (303453)

Site ID 303453 Name AWIBS Site LATROBE VALLEY AIRPORT Location LATROBE VALLEY AIRPORT

VIC 3844 AMG Zone 55 AMG Easting 453600 AMG Northing 5771100 Precision Within 100 metres Latitude -38 12 24 Longitude 146 28 12 Licence Fee Density Low Density AreasAssignment Details General Details Licence Number 1147656 Access ID 1316853 Client Latrobe Regional Airport Site AWIBS Site LATROBE VALLEY AIRPORT Operating Mode Transmit/Receive Access Status Date Approved 30-MAR-06 Coverage Local Hours of Operation

[ New Search ] Frequencies Assigned 128.2000000 MHz Lower 128.1970000 MHz Carrier Upper 128.2030000 MHz Device and Antenna details Device ID 1313784 Emission Designator 6K00A3E EIRP 0 Transmitter Power 5.00 pY Antenna ID 50079 Antenna Height (AGL) 7 Antenna Polarity Vertical Antenna Azimuth ND Antenna Tilt

Guest Fred Bear